Transparency Accountability For People, Not For Profit


To provide for the needs of our members, by updating and improving the services we offer. We are a "not for profit , but for people" financial co-operative. We are owned by you the members and governed by voluntary Board of Directors, chosen and elected by you.

Going That Extra Mile!

To enable us to provide you with the quality service you deserve, we choose and develop the very best of personnel, building a dedicated, enthusiastic team who truly care about our members needs. We feel you should expect to receive a professional and efficient service.


  • Loans
  • Savings
  • Minor Savings Accounts (under 16)
  • School Savings
  • Subsidiary Accounts
  • Life Savings Insurance*
  • Loan Protection Insurance*
  • Death Benefit
  • Euro and US Dollar Exchange
  • Oil Club

*These insurances are provided at no direct cost to members, subject to eligibility

Your Bannvale Credit Union Team

Angela Hegarty

Grace Donaghy
Assistant Manager

Paul McLaughlin
Clerical Officer

John O'Boyle
Clerical Officer


Louise Downey
Loan Officer

Kathy McAtamney
Clerical Officer

Zara Convery
Clerical Officer

Aimee McAtamney
Clerical Officer


Claire Heaney
Senior Administrator

Eimhear Chambers
Clerical Officer

Carmel Quigg
Clerical Officer


Board of Directors

Gearoid McAtamney

Brendan Diamond

Sean McGarry

Elaine Graham


Bill Devlin
Vice Chairperson

Dermot Doherty

Richard McKnight

Siobhan O’Kane

Hazel McKeown

Ciaran Doherty
Supervisory Committee

Liam O'Kane

Billy McCaughern

Jane McNally

Geraldine Donnelly

Harry Kearney

James O’Boyle

"A Golden Opportunity”


It was over 50 years ago that a group of forward thinking individuals from the Portglenone and Bellaghy areas got together to attend a talk given by John Hume and Pat Quinn (founder of Armagh Credit Union) about Credit Unions and the benefits they offer the community. It was a week later on Wednesday 13th November 1963 that they reassembled and decided that our community would benefit greatly from just such a service. Present at that meeting, amongst others were:

President, Eoin McErlean, Secretary, Seamus Mackle, Treasurer, Colm O'Brien pictured below in 1963.
Mike Clarke, Mickey Henry, Matt McAteer, Henry McErlean, Hugh McIlvenna, John Young and Dan McErlean.

Each person there present, contributed half a crown, it was then and there that our Credit Union was born. The name "Bannvale Credit Union" was chosen and the rest as they say is quite literally 'History.' From our humble beginnings we now have members of 4972 with shares of £11.7million and loans of £5.69million. We also have 1261 minor (under 16) savers withs savings of £960k. The names of all the other people, who over the last 50 years, have been instrumental in the progression and success pf Bannvale Credit Union are to many to mention, but you know who you are, and without your dedication and commitment we would not be where we are today, and for that we are eternally grateful.



Want to volunteer for your local credit union? Download our volunteer form and bring it to us in person. We appreciate your support!

Bannvale Credit Union proudly support the local community through sponsorship to members. Download and complete a form below and drop it into your local Bannvale Branch.